## COOK COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Regular Session April 3, 2017

Present: Dwight E. Purvis, Chairman

Debra Robinson, Vice-Chairman

Jeff Lane, Commissioner Audie Rowe, Commissioner Lindsey Parrish, Commissioner

**Staff Present**: Faye Hughes, County Administrator

Vicki S. Parrish, County Clerk

Chairman Purvis called the meeting to order.

Fave Hughes gave the Invocation.

Commission Board led the pledge to the flag.

<u>MINUTES:</u> Commissioner Lane moved to adopt the meeting minutes as presented, second Commissioner Rowe. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>COMMUNITY AMBULANCE SERVICE</u>: Commissioner Lane moved to ratify the Community Ambulance Service Agreement and Resolution, funding services in the amount of \$665,000 annually, agreement was dated May 28, 2017, second Commissioner Robinson. Motion to ratify signatures on the agreement and the resolution carried unanimously.

## RESOLUTION TO APPROVE AMBULANCE SERVICE AGREEMENT

WHEREAS, Cook County, Georgia is governed by the Cook County Board of Commissioners; and,

WHEREAS, Community Ambulance has submitted the attached agreement for ambulance and emergency medical services for Cook County, Georgia to begin on May 28, 2017; and,

WHEREAS, a local resolution is required to ratify the agreement; and,

WHEREAS, the Cook County Board of Commissioners has reviewed the proposed agreement and find it in the best interest of Cook County to approve said agreement in order to provide the best ambulance and emergency medical services for its citizens.

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** the Cook County Board of Commissioners hereby agree to pass a Resolution to Approve Ambulance Service Agreement and agree to abide by all terms and conditions contained therein.

COOK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS:

E. PURVIS, CHAIRMAN

ATTEST;

JICKI PARRISH CLERK

3/20/17

DATE

<u>TSPLOST RESOLUTION</u>: Commissioner Parrish moved to adopt the T-Splost Resolution, allowing for the roundtable to be created that would prepare the referendum for T-Splost, second Commissioner Rowe. Motion carried unanimously.

## Resolution

WHEREAS, the Transportation Investment Act of 2010 established the ability of each service delivery region in Georgia to levy a sales tax of one cent for the purposes of funding transportation infrastructure improvements; and

WHEREAS, the South Georgia region consisting of Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Cook, Clinch, Coffee, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, Pierce, Tift, Turner and Ware counties implemented the requirements of the Transportation Investment Act of 2010 and voters considered but did not approve a sales tax referendum on July 31st, 2012; and

WHEREAS, the Transportation Funding Act of 2015 was signed by Governor Nathan Deal on May 14, 2015 provided a mechanism for regions that did not pass the referendum in 2012 to reconsider the question upon adoption of a resolution by the governing bodies of a majority of the counties in the region; and

WHEREAS, all of the procedural requirements of the Transportation Investment Act of 2010 remain in effect regarding the creation of investment criteria, the establishment of the Regional Roundtable and Executive Committee, the development of a draft investment list, and public participation among other items; and

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners desire to initiate the process outlined in the Transportation Investment Act of 2010 for the voters of the South Georgia region to consider the imposition of a one cent sales tax for the purposes of funding transportation infrastructure improvements in the region; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of their resolution shall be transmitted to the Director of Planning of the Georgia Department of Transportation, the South Georgia Regional Commission as well as the Boards of Commission of the counties of South Georgia.

This 3rd day of April, 2017.

**Cook County Board of Commissioners** 

Dwight Parvis, Chairman

Attest, County Clerk

ROAD DEPARTMENT – F350 FUEL TRUCK: Commissioner Lane approved the quote from Highway Tire & Diesel to replace the motor in the 2001 F350 fuel truck, \$4886.79 and \$190.00 6 month warranty, second Commissioner Parrish. Motion carried unanimously.

EMS BUILDING REMOVAL: Commissioner Lane moved to pay Kelly Construction \$8500 to remove the former EMS building, second Commissioner Robinson. Motion carried with Commissioners Purvis, Robinson, Parrish and Lane voting yes; and, Commissioner Rowe voting in opposition of the motion.

<u>DFCS BOARD APPOINTMENT – MEDERS</u>: Commissioner Lane moved to appoint Mr. Steve Meders to the DFCS Board, filling the unexpired term of the late Fred Byrd (term expires June 2021), second Commissioner Parrish. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>SHERIFF DOUG HANKS – TASERS:</u> Commissioner Rowe moved to approve the purchase of tasers and holsters in the amount of \$33,104.19 from Taser International, second Commissioner Robinson. Motion carried, 3 yes votes.

<u>ROBERT BROWNING – BEAVER CONTROL</u>: Commissioner Robinson moved to approve moving forward with a contract for beaver control with Mr. Robert Browning, second Commissioner Rowe. Motion carried unanimously.

Commissioner Parrish moved to adjourn, second Commissioner Lane. Motion carried, 5 yes votes.

COOK COUNTY COMMISSIONERS	This the 17 <sup>th</sup> day of April , 2017.
/s/ Dwight E. Purvis, Chairman	/s/ Vicki S. Parrish, County Clerk