## COOK COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Regular Session 6:00 p.m. July 18, 2016

**Present**: Dwight Purvis, Vice-Chairman

Debra Robinson, Commissioner Michael Dinnerman, Commissioner

Jeff Lane, Commissioner

**Staff Present**: Faye Hughes, County Administrator

Vicki S. Parrish, County Clerk Daniel Connell, County Attorney

Vice-Chairman Purvis called the meeting to order and asked for a moment of silence for the police officers killed in the line of duty in Louisiana and Texas.

Invocation was led by Faye Hughes.

Commission Board led the pledge to the flag.

<u>MINUTES:</u> Commissioner Jeff Lane moved to approve the minutes as presented, second Commissioner Robinson. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>APPOINTMENT:</u> William Davis presented the board with a list of roads that needed repairs. Mr. Davis also offered his help to the road department and board to assist in anyway regarding the repairs.

<u>PUBLIC HEARING</u>: Commissioner Jeff Lane moved to enter into public hearing with the right to return to regular session, second Commissioner Robinson. Motion carried, 4 yes votes.

Chris Davis presented the 2016 Soil Erosion Ordinance.

There was no one that spoke in favor or opposition of the purposed ordinance.

Commissioner Robinson moved to return to regular session, second Commissioner Dinnerman. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>SOIL EROSION ORDINANCE</u>: Commissioner Jeff Lane moved to adopt the Soil Erosion Ordinance as presented, second Commissioner Dinnerman. Motion carried, 4 yes votes.

5311 RURAL TRANSPORTATION CAPITAL CONTRACT: Commissioner Purvis moved to approve the 2017 - 5311 Rural Transportation Capital Contract and approve the \$8,829.77 match, second Commissioner Jeff Lane. Motion carried, 4 yes votes.

<u>2016 SPLOST INTERGOVERNMENTAL AGREEMENT:</u> Commissioner Jeff Lane made the motion to enter into the 2016 Splost Intergovernmental Agreement with the county municipalities, second Commissioner Robinson. Motion carried unanimously.

RESOLUTION CALLING FOR AN ELECTION TO IMPOSE A COUNTY SPECIAL PURPOSE LOCAL OPTION SALES TAX: Commissioner Dinnerman moved to adopt the Resolution for an Election to Impose a County Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax, second Commissioner Jeff Lane. Motion carried unanimously.

EMS BUILDING – LOCKERS: Commissioner Jeff Lane moved to enter into a contract with Johnny Guest for the construction of the EMS Building lockers, second Commissioner Robinson. Motion carried, 4 yes votes. Mr. Guest will be paid ½ of project cost when contract is signed.

<u>SAFETY COORDINATOR</u>: Commissioner Purvis moved to appoint Vicki Parrish as Safety Coordinator and Insurance Contact for the upcoming 2016-2017 year, second Commissioner Dinnerman. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>ROAD SUPERINTENDENT</u>: Commissioner Jeff Lane moved to discontinue the administrative leave and reinstate Daniel Barber to road and landfill superintendent, second Commissioner Purvis. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>COLQUITT EMC EASEMENT</u>: Commissioner Robinson moved to grant the easement request to Colquitt EMC for a 30 foot easement that would run 2400 feet south on the Cook County Airport property, second Commissioner Jeff Lane. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>CHASERVILLE - MASSEE VFD</u>: Commissioner Purvis moved to sale the 300 gallon "slid-in" tank that was obtain through the forestry commission for \$304.00 to Turner County for \$304.00, second Commissioner Jeff Lane. Motion carried, 4 yes votes.

<u>FIRE EQUIPMENT GRANT:</u> In an earlier fire grant award of \$60,960, boots, gloves, hats, and hoods were not included. County Administrator, Faye Hughes, requested the additional funding of \$19,152 to complete the sets of bunker gear and the funds were granted. Total grant award, \$80,112.00 with matching funds of \$6,240.00, providing 48 complete sets of bunker gear for the fire departments.

Commissioner Dinnerman moved to approve matching funds for the fire equipment grant, second Commissioner Robinson, motion carried unanimously.

Meeting adjourn at 6:40 p.m.

**COOK COUNTY COMMISSIONERS** 

This the 1st day of August, 2016.

/s/ Randy Lane, Chairman

/s/ Vicki S. Parrish, County Clerk