## **COOK COUNTY COMMISSIONERS**

## Regular Meeting 6:00 p.m. November 17, 2014

**Present**: Michael Dinnerman, Chairman

Jeff Lane, Vice-Chairman Randy Lane, Commissioner Ronnie Sumner, Commissioner

**Staff Present**: Faye Hughes, County Administrator

Vicki S. Parrish, County Clerk

Chairman Dinnerman called the meeting to order and thanked the audience for their attendance.

Faye Hughes gave the invocation.

The Commission Board led the Pledge to the American Flag.

Additions to Agenda: I. FEMA Fire Grant

<u>MINUTES</u>: Commissioner Randy Lane moved to adopt minutes as presented, second Commissioner Sumner. Motion carried, 4 yes votes.

<u>HEATING & AIR SERVICE BID -GRIFFIN HEATING & AIR:</u> Commissioner Jeff Lane made the motion to accept the bid from Griffin's Heating & Air, \$6,821.00 annually for service and maintenance for county building heating and air units, second Commissioner Randy Lane. Motion carried with 4 yes votes.

<u>BICYCLE ASSESSMENT FACILITY – LETTER OF SUPPORT:</u> Commissioner Sumner moved to authorize the Chairman's endorsement on the Letter of Support for the Southern Georgia Regional Commission's request for the bicycle assessment facility (bike trails in three counties), second Commissioner Jeff Lane. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>PINE VALLEY CASH & CARRY – 2015 ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE APPLICATION:</u>
Commissioner Randy Lane made the motion to approve Pine Valley Cash & Carry's 2015 Alcoholic Beverage Application for a retail malt beverage package license, second Commissioner Jeff Lane, 4 yes votes.

<u>2015 LMIG PROJECTS</u>: Commissioner Jeff Lane moved to request county engineer, Larry Sanders, rate proposed roads for the 2015 LMIG project list, second Commissioner Sumner. Motion carried with 4 yes votes.

SHERIFF DOUG HANKS – EQUITABLE SHARING AGREEMENT AND CERTIFICATION: Commissioner Randy Lane moved to authorize the Chairman's endorsement on the Equitable Sharing Agreement and Certification for Sheriff Doug Hanks annual report, second Commissioner Sumner. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>APPOINTMENTS - BOARD OF ASSESSORS</u>: In order to stagger the terms of the Board of Assessors' the commission board was asked to make the following appointments.

Commissioner Randy Lane made the motion to reappoint Lee Folsom January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2017; and, reappoint Richard Hargett January 1, 2012 – December 31, 2016 (reflecting an extension in Mr. Hargett's term in order to stagger the board's appointments), second Commissioner Jeff Lane, 4 yes votes.

<u>BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND REGISTRATION</u>: Commissioners Jeff Lane made the motion to make the following appointments to the Board of Elections & Registration, reappoint Ms. Pat Witherspoon for a new term of January 2015-December 2018; and, to appoint Ms. Anna Lawhorn for a term of January 2015-December 2018, second Commissioner Sumner. Motion carried unanimously.

Chairman Dinnerman thanked Ms. Shirley McClain for her service to the Board of Elections and Registration.

<u>RESOLUTION – 2014 BUDGET AMENDMENT:</u> Commissioner Jeff Lane made the motion to adopt the 2014 Budget Amendment as presented, second Commissioner Randy Lane. Motion carried, 4 yes votes.

<u>FEMA - AFG FIRE GRANT</u>: Commissioner Randy Lane made the motion to allow Dwight Bennett, Fire Consultant, apply for a FEMA – AFG Grant, a 5% match with no dollar cap on items to be included in the grant, second Commissioner Sumner, 4 yes votes.

<u>EXECUTIVE SESSION</u>: Commissioner Randy Lane moved to enter into an executive session with the right to return to regular session, second Commissioner Jeff Lane, 4 yes votes.

Commissioner Randy Lane made the motion to return to regular session, second Commissioner Sumner, 4 yes votes.

O D.	1 41			4.1	
'hairman I linnarman	announced there was	na action taken	during		CACCIAN
2000   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   200   2	announced there was	HU action taken	uuiiiu t	-XCCUUIVC	ಎರವಿಎಂಟ.

Meeting adjourned.

COOK COUNTY COMMISSIONERS	This the 1st day of December, 2014.		
/s/ Michael Dinnerman, Chairman	/s/ Vicki S. Parrish, County Clerk		