Request for Board of Commissioners' Action

From: _	Faye Hughes	, County Admir	nistrator		Date:	8/14/2020
Subject:	ACCG 2021	Policy Agenda		Item Number:	Work	Session E
Sent: M	Ionday, August 2 okgov@windstrea	<a href="mailto:<a <="" href="mailto:4" th=""><th>rocess</th><th></th><th></th><th></th>	rocess			
Good A	Afternoon,					
	_	egislative Leadershopt the 2021 Policy	•	was cancelled, there	are still c	ritical actions that county
Agenda yoursel	here . There are	several opportuni	ties for county	officials to provide i	nput alon	nd approve the 2021 Policy g the way. Please familiarize and how you can provide
person mayor b through	for this role, and pecomes the country a virtual process to form by Sept. 2	if no designee is id nty's voting delega s between Sept. 24	lentified, the cl te. Voting dele l-Oct. 1. ACC	nairman, sole comm egates will cast the fi G asks that you co m	issioner, o nal vote o plete and	unty may designate one chief executive officer or on behalf of the county direturn the attached voting anner. You can access the
-	ave any question eller@accg.org	s regarding this pro	ocess, please c	ontact Legislative Di	rector Clir	nt Mueller
Motio	on made by _					
Votes		Ves	no		Motion	carried/ failed



2021 Policy Agenda Approval Process & Voting Delegate Designation

BOARD OF MANAGERS

Johnny Davis, President Jefferson County

Steve Taylor, 1st Vice President

Bartow County

Melissa Hughes, 2nd Vice President Tift County

Henry Craig, 3rd Vice President
Baldwin County

Jennifer Dorminey Herzog

Berrien and Grady Counties
Katie Bishop

Camden County
Michelle Morgan

Michelle Morga

Steven Henry

Catoosa County
Jason Winters

Marc DeMott

Colquitt County
Scott Johnson

Columbia County
Larry Johnson

DeKalb County Jeff Rader

Jeff Rader DeKalb County

Clinton Johnson
Dougherty County

Jamie Deloach

Effingham County
Cindy Mills

Forsyth County

Liz Hausmann

Fulton County

Carvel Lewis Georgetown-Quitman County

Charlotte Nash Gwinnett County

Natalie Crawford

Habersham County

Sistie Hudson Hancock County

Harry Lange Harris County

Susan Andrews

Harris County

Tom McMichael Houston County

Tommy Stalnaker

Nancy Thrash

Lamar County
Rick Muggridge

Lee County

Frederick Favors

McDuffie County

Benjamin Hayward

Mitchell County
Nancy Schulz

Newton Coun

John Daniell
Oconee County

Billy Pittard
Oalethorpe County

Darriel Nobles
Toombs County

David Sikes

Toombs County

Daryl Hall Turner County

Lamar Paris

Union County

Kevin Little

James Thomas

Edwin Nix

White County

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Dave Wills

MEMORANDUM

To: County Chairmen, Sole Commissioners, CEOs and

Mayors of Consolidated Governments

c/o County Clerks, Managers or Administrators

From: Dave Wills, Executive Director

Date: August 24, 2020

Subject: 2021 Policy Agenda Approval Process & Voting Delegate Designation

While the 2020 ACCG Legislative Leadership Conference was cancelled at the direction of the ACCG Executive Committee, there are still critically important actions that must be taken by county officials in order to consider and approve the 2021 Policy Agenda. The Policy Agenda includes the Guiding Principles, Policy Objectives and Legislative Priorities for the 2021 legislative session. The Policy Agenda guides ACCG's legislative action and allows ACCG members to speak with a unified voice for Georgia counties.

In accordance with the ACCG bylaws and policies adopted by the ACCG Board of Managers, the association has developed an alternative process for county officials to review and provide input into the Policy Agenda this year.

Please review the schedule provided to see the steps that will be taken this year to adopt the 2021 Policy Agenda. ACCG will provide more information to county officials for each of these actions as they get closer.

There are several opportunities for all county officials to have input into the process in the coming weeks by participating in the remaining policy committee meetings, reviewing the policy objectives and providing input into the legislative proprieties. Once the Policy Agenda is finalized, each county's voting delegate will have a designated period of time to cast the county's vote virtually.

In order for ACCG staff to set the stage for conducting the voting process as smoothly as possible, we need the name of your county's voting delegate by September 22. Each county may designate <u>one</u> voting delegate. The voting delegate selected by the board or sole commissioner may be a member of the county staff if the board or sole commissioner if the voting delegate form is received by September 22. If the county does not appoint a voting delegate, then the chair, sole commissioner, CEO or mayor of a consolidated government becomes the voting delegate. The chair, CEO or mayor may designate another member of the governing authority to vote in his or her stead – but not a county staff member after September 22.

Voting credentials will be emailed to the voting delegates on September 24. The vote must be cast between September 24 – October 1

Please complete the voting delegate form and return it no later than September 22, 2020 to tdavis@accg.org as a scanned email attachment or fax it to 404.589.7813.

Your prompt attention to this matter is greatly appreciated.



2020 Voting Delegate Designation Form

2020 BUSINESS SESSION TO ADOPT THE POLICY AGENDA VOTING DELEGATE

County		
Name		
Title		
Email Address		
Signature of County Chair		
eignature of County Chair		
Date		

Please complete the voting delegate form and return it no later than Sept. 22, 2020 to tdavis@accg.org as a scanned email attachment or fax it to 404.589.7813.

NOTE: If the county does not appoint a voting delegate, then the chair, sole commissioner, CEO or mayor of a consolidated government becomes the voting delegate. The chair, CEO or mayor may designate another member of the governing authority to vote in his or her stead – but not a county staff member after September 22.